The best mail you can get

IMG_3772

One of the issues with the city I live in, is that there aren’t many places to buy good knitting supplies. (and there just aren’t many knitters around, that I’m aware of.) There is a Michael’s craft store, but that can only get you so far..

To get around this issue, I have taken to ordering yarn online. It can be a little scary to buy a product you can’t touch or feel, so I like to spread the word about sites that sell awesome yarn.

I received this package today from Quince & Co.Ā Ā – I believe it has only been two weeks since I ordered it, and now it’s in my kitchen.

This company is rapidly becoming one of my favourites to order yarn from. (and they have great patterns as well.) Definitely go check them out if you haven’t already. I like to use this site for large custom orders. I have nearly completed a knit pair of pants out of the “lark” 100% wool yarn. (I’ll post pictures when they’re done.) It has a very soft, delicate hand with a nice drape. I was worried about it being itchy, but it isn’t in the least.
As a side note – I am more than happy to do custom knit orders through my Etsy shop. Just message me with the details of what you would like and what colour. I am able to do most things with a little conversation, and I enjoy taking on different projects.

My next project is going to be a shawl for a bride. I am looking forward to this one; it’s not every day that someone trusts you with the responsibility of creating a garment for their wedding day. Here is the yarn:

IMG_3777

She selected the “owl” yarn – a very nice 50% alpaca and 50% wool blend. This colour is huckleberry.

Of course, I couldn’t order from the site without getting something for myself, so accompanying this yarn in the box was some “owl” hemlock and “puffin” dogwood:

IMG_3776 IMG_3774

I’m planning to make a cardigan for myself out of the hemlock. (I haven’t knit myself anything in ages!) I haven’t landed on a use for the dogwood yet. I just thought it was a beautiful colour, and I wanted to try some of their heavier yarn.

Any suggestions?

2 thoughts on “The best mail you can get

  1. I will have to check Quince & Co out. I crochet occasionally and can never find yarn I like in the nearby stores- I am a fairly picky person about yarn!

    Really excited to see the wedding shawl! All of those colors are amazing, the dogwood would made a lovely cowl I bet.

Leave a Comment

