New beginnings

It’s a new year, and I’m excited about some new projects I have on the go. First of all, I want to announce that we will be at the Commonwealth Collector’s Club market in Calgary, AB on February 9, from 2-6pm. Admission is $3. Check out their Facebook page for more info.

1538927_256706927826181_2102431051_n

In other news, I have started the navy blue shawl as a custom order for a bride. So far, this project has been far from smooth sailing. The pattern that I purchased was far from helpful. I do not crochet, so I always make sure to specify that I want ONLY knitting in my search results on Ravelry. After doing that, this pattern came up. I read the information about it: no mention of crochet. I pay $5 or $6 for the pattern. I download it. BOOM. The entire bottom of the shawl is crocheted. WHAT?!

Now, in an attempt to keep my customer happy, I decide to improvise and tell her I can still make the shawl, but with a knit lace pattern on the bottom instead of the crocheted portion. She agrees and chooses a pattern, but this is not the end of my difficulty. Now I return to my mostly useless pattern to decide on what size to make. I now discover that my options for sizing are either S/L or L/XXL, and there are no finished measurements for either one. Once again I need to improvise. I decide to go with the L/XXL size, because its better to be too big than too small when it is  a simple wrap (“simple”).

I finally begin working on my new shawl. I knit about 2″ (the shawl is 317 sts, so 2″ is some huge progress), when I realize I am working the pattern incorrectly. I had assumed that the pattern was worked from top to bottom, to achieve what is shown in the picture. Not this time. In fact, I was supposed to be going from right to left. I tearfully ripped out everything I had done (about 1 1/4 skeins of yarn), and began again.

I will now be working the bottom lace edging horizontally, on its own (sort of looks like a lace scarf), and then picking up stitches along the edge to work the top ribbed part of the shawl vertically. This has become a much bigger pain in the ass than I had first anticipated, but I am now confident that it will work out in the end. You can see my projects on Ravelry here, to see the original pattern (not recommended), my notes and changes, and the other things I’m working on.

Here is my progress so far:

DSCN0300    DSCN0305

What was your biggest knitting mishap? Share your stories in comments.

Leave a Comment

