Knit pants: The never ending journey

20140217-130923.jpg

For the past 8 months or so, I have been working on a very large project known as the adult Birchbark Longies (you can search and purchase this pattern on Ravelry.com).

It all started when I noticed the current ceramics artist in residence at Red Deer College wearing a hand knit toque and inquired where he had gotten it. Turns out, this guy was in the habit of giving away his ceramics work in exchange for knitting. I pounced on this opportunity and went straight for his most drool- worthy body of work: handmade ceramic antlers (anyone who knows me, knows how I feel about antlers).
So, when he revealed to me that he had always wanted a pair of knit pants, I thought “Sure. How hard can it be.” Well…Not hard at all, but certainly time consuming!
I purchased the Birchbark Longies pattern on Ravelry, while Mike ordered 14 skeins of Lark wool from Quince and Co. I then began 8 long months of stockinette stitch.

Here are some detail photos of the finished product. More photos and complete pattern info can be found in my projects on Ravelry (feel free to friend me: Lstansal).

20140217-130128.jpg

20140217-130141.jpg

These are not the exact antler that I chose, but they are similar, and photographed much more nicely than I would have been able to produce:

20140217-130308.jpg

20140217-130316.jpg

Totally worth it, right?

While I highly doubt I will be making these pants again (although I have already been asked), it feels great to finish them. I doubt there are many people out there who can say they’ve hand knit sweatpants for an adult. :p

Leave me a comment below about your most time consuming handmade project:

2 thoughts on “Knit pants: The never ending journey

  1. Seriously, that is a commitment! Most of the things that have taken me forever are because I had to/decided to take them apart and redo them a few times, or because I decided to make something but hadn’t figured out how to do it yet, so I spent a lot of time not doing it because I had to think about it so much. My mom will regularly decide to knit or crochet an entire afghanโ€”and finish it tooโ€”but I can’t imagine myself doing that! I suppose it would be a good exercise in the Zen of knitting …

  2. Pingback: The Fawn Knits – Episode 11: So Many Socks!! | the fawn & the fox blog

Leave a Comment

