The Fawn Knits: Episode 3 – Creature KAL

Hey!

I’ve just uploaded a new episode of the podcast. This episode features me constantly touching my face, banging things on the computer, and nonstop sniffling. All that nonsense aside, I hope you guys enjoy the episode. I would love it if you come over and join the Ravelry group – The Fawn Knits.

I am hosting a knit along from now until July 31st. It’s called the Creature KAL, where we will basically be knitting creatures (crochet is also welcome!). I thought this would be perfect for summer, since a lot of people don’t feel like knitting very much due to the hot weather. This way, you are just knitting a quick, small project that isn’t to wear (necessarily).

If you want to see some inspiring photos and links to patterns, you can check out my Pinterest board here.

The criteria for the KAL is:

1. Must be a living thing (hence the name: creature). This is a broad term that can include animals – real or imagined, monsters, plants, people, or whatever else you can think of. I’m not going to be too picky about this.

2. It can be a stuffed animal, colorwork with an animal / plant image, or something that makes YOU into a creature (hats with animal ears/costumes).

That’s really all. I want everyone to get creative with what “creature” means to them. I will be creating a thread in the Ravelry group for chatter and progress pics, then another thread with no chatter for your FO’s . I will draw from the FO thread on August 1st to determine the winner of a project bag from my Etsy shop. I will be letting the winner choose any medium size project bag (for 1-3 skein projects) they would like.

If you make knitting or fibre related stuff, sell things, sell on Etsy, or are an indie dyer, and you would like to donate a prize for the KAL, please message me on Ravelry. We would all love you for it!

Shownotes for Episode 3:

You can find me on Ravelry and Instagram as thefawnknits

Spun Right Round  – Etsy Shop

Stitched in Sweden Podcast

I forgot to talk about the book I got the pattern for the Loch Ness Monster out of – It’s called Amigurumi Knits by Hansi Singh. If you want to make more than one knit animal, I would highly recommend this book. The patterns are great and easy to follow, and there are a lot of great animal patterns (and a few vegetables and bugs). I got my copy on Amazon. For beginner knitters, this book would be a great thing for you because the patterns start off very easy and increase in difficulty as the book goes on. They also help you learn a lot of important techniques that are used often in garment knitting, but in a very short amount of time. You can knit a small, fast project while becoming a pro at short rows or a certain increase and decrease – skills you will most definitely use later.

Some other resources for patterns:

Tiny Owl Knits

The Dapper Toad

MochiMochi Land

Rebecca Danger

Sarah Elizabeth Kellner

Linda Dawkins

If you have any questions for me, or suggestions for things you’d like to see on the podcast, please let me know in the Ravelry group thread: Questions & Suggestions. (side note: I thought I had come up with such a clever name for that thread, then I joined the Ravelry group for Stitched in Sweden and saw she named hers the same thing! 🙂 I guess I’m not as original as I thought.)

Please come join in on the KAL – I would love to see what you guys come up with!

Thank you so much for watching, and I’ll talk to you next week!

 

 

 

 

One thought on “The Fawn Knits: Episode 3 – Creature KAL

  1. Pingback: The Fawn Knits: Episode 5 | the fawn & the fox blog

Leave a Comment

